Roberta Piket – Solo

Roberta Piket: Solo Cover
Artist: Roberta Piket
Title: Solo
Release Date: 2012
Release Number: TNR-0104

“I get restless easily and I’m always looking for new challenges,” pianist Roberta Piket reflects about her decision to record, at this point in her career, a full-length solo album. A versatile musician, she’s played both straight-ahead jazz and free music. Her most recent CD, Sides, Colors, explored the pastel shades and supple textures of an ensemble enhanced with strings and woodwinds. Love and Beauty, from 2006, presented her advanced concept of the modern jazz piano trio.

And on her 2003 release, I’m Back in Therapy and It’s All Your Fault, she experimented with electric instruments and groove-oriented pieces. So, for Roberta, a solo CD represents a new musical challenge, another fresh area of exploration, and the next step forward in her continuing growth as an artist.
“This is the first time I’ve done a recording of almost all standards,” she continues. “I felt that for my first solo recording I wanted to start with material as fundamental and malleable as the standard repertoire, a common reference point that I am very comfortable with.”
– From the
liner notes by Bob Bernotas

1. I See Your Face Before Me
2. Monk 1: Variations on a Dream
3. Monk 2: Monk’s Dream
4. Something to Live For
5. Estate
6. Nefertiti
7. Claude’s Clawed
8. Litha
9. In the Days of Our Love
10. Beatrice
11. Improvisation Blue

Comments are closed.